Help! MB session en masse!

Ack! I've been asked last-minute to run a mb session this weekend for the communications mb, for 60-70 boys. This is NOT the way I would prefer to do mb counseling but it is a situation where I feel I have to pitch in and lend a hand. (long background story, suffice to say I'm going to do this against my better judgment.)

I am a newly registered counselor for this badge. I've read the mb book and had a look at a few mb worksheets, though I'm not so sure I want to use them (I won't have time to check them anyway!). I teach college students for a living so I believe I have a handle on the application of a lot of the material. But I would love some creative ideas for how to work through the requirements with this large a group of (mostly) middle school aged boys. Oh yes, and I have TWO HOURS to do it and the only technology I can count on having available is an overhead projector!

I've been asked to focus on requirements 1, 2, 6, and 9; I guess that's the good news. They do not expect to cover the entire mb.

I'd really appreciate some ideas for how to make this as good a session as I can for these boys, given time constraints, group size, and short notice for preparation. Thanks!

Lisa'bob

Do you have any other adults to help you monitor this? That would be a big help! Even if you can recruit some older boys, they could be of great assistance.

I think I'd start by splitting the large group into several smaller ones, no more than 10 to a group. Ideally, even a little smaller.

Next, I'd work on #1, Option C. Have them tell the others in the group the story. If you can have a monitor in each group, they can discuss the differences they learned.

For #2, Option A, I'd provide paper and markers. In the same small groups, I'd have them work on a pictograph describing themselves and present it within the small group.