I have been a stalker of this forum for over a year and am finally deciding to sign up. I am an old Eagle Scout that grew up and decided that I needed to do for kids what someone once did for me. Our small town no longer had any scouting programs as before the Boy Scout and Girl Scout chapters closed years ago. To solve this and provide scouting for everyone I teamed up with Camp Fire about a year and a half ago and got a club going. I'm kinda the odd ball in that group because we run much like the BSA of my day but use the Camp Fire curriculum.

Welcome, and thanks for all you do for the kids!

One of my aunts is possibly the oldest living Campfire Girl. She was one of my inspirations for promoting our Venturing Crew.

I'm still learning myself but it seems to be more based on building self esteem on talking about self worth instead of skill building. Some of the other things is in the younger ages the kinds earn emblems much like merit badges but when they get older they earn beads for to completion of a what would equivocate out to a merit badge. Different colored beads for different categories of skill. Then the beads are laced onto a more traditionally native style of dress or tunic. Much like you would find in OA. The other big one is it seems to be very much unstructured with a ton of discretion left to the Leaders. That is both good and bad. There isn't a push to be an outdoors type of Scout, it's really how you choose to run your club. Oh and it's coed.