Skipping Webelos I

Go to solution Solved by Eagle94-A1,

Hey guys love the site and love the forums. I wish they were even busier as I love to chat about scouting. As I am new to scouting with my son I frequent all the different forums. Ok on to my question. 

I have a friend who has her son in the same troop as my son. Her son is just becoming a Webelos and turns 10 this month. My question is can her son just tell his den leader that he does not want to do the Webelos I program and work on the Arrow of Light since he will be 10 1/2 at the time all the others cross over into a troop. That is where his friends are at and he wants to be. He does not want to spend two years in Cub Scouts and the fact that in one year he can join a troop anyways. I know in his previous ranks he has went ahead and worked on extra electives outside of den meetings to earn other things that most of the other boys did not do. I suggested to his mom that if he could work on the Arrow of Light that he still works and tries to earn Webelos things also. Thank you for any help you can provide. 

I think I have seen that you can but the situations were a little different so just wanted to clarify. Also if he can how do you not upset the den/troop leader when telling him that he wants to do this. 

Once again thank you for your replies I love learning as much about this as I can. 

Casper72

Under the new program requirements, he can (a) do them in order, (b) skip straight to AOL, or © work on them simultaneously, with the caveat that "properly" he should get the last requirement for Webelos signed off BEFORE the last requirement for AOL (since, by the book, he cannot earn Webelos *after* earning AOL).

His choice on which of the three he wants to do.

Regarding your 2nd question, the most straightforward way of doing this is to put him in the 2nd year webelos den and have him "officially" work on AOL with the den, and do the Webelos badge stuff on his own time.

Edited by MrBob
  • Upvote 2