Encouragement needed... Talk me down =)

This post is part inquiry & part vent... it might be more vent than anything

I'm new to scouting.  My older son joined as a Tiger and didn't enjoy it at all... I was able to convince him to join again midway through Web II and he loved it and crossed over last May.  He received First Class in October and is really enjoying Boy Scouts.  Because of his experience we encouraged his little brother to join Cub Scouts this year.  In October we still did not have a Bear den leader and I offered to 'lead' things until someone could officially take over.  At that point, I really had no clue how things are run and re-chartering and everything else.  We obviously needed our leaders trained so I was quickly pulled in to the "official mix" of things.  And I'm loving all that scouting represents.  Happy to do it.

My questions:

How much work is reasonable to be expected to be done at home?  How much is typically done at home?

Is it common for dens to assign a family to lead a particular adventure or meeting or does that responsibility tend to fall on the den leader?  

Approximately how many months does it take to complete rank requirements? Any experience with Bears specifically (realizing this is the first year of the new program)?