Taxable vs. Tax Exempt CO's

Go to solution Solved by Hedgehog,

I'm not a tax lawyer, but maybe there's someone out there that can clarify this for me.

A CO with a tax-exempt status, is exempt from paying income tax, but what about sales tax on some of their operations.

I have seen churches running coffee shops within their churches where the coffee is sold at a price and not "free" pending a good-will offering.  Does that coffee shop operation need to be charging sales tax?

The profits of the coffee shop would be tax exempt?

I don't see this as a charitable fund raiser, but maybe the case could be made.  They are however selling a product.

So now we have the boys "raising money" for their trips under the tax exempt status of a CO.  Is this a ministry when the CO only views the unit as someone who uses the facilities rent free or doesn't allow the unit access to the tax-exempt ID?

What if a local hardware store is the CO, do the boys need to be charging sales tax and paying income tax just like the hardware store does?

With some of these units having thousands of dollars spirited away, how long does one think it will take to hit the IRS and state tax departments' radar?

Depends on the state, I suppose. "Thousands of dollars" amounts to $70 - $700 in revenue, perhaps. Not earth-shattering to most treasuries ... even when multiplied by the number of units who take advantage of their CO's exemption.

Scale matters. If it costs more to enforce a ruling (many of which have not held up in court) than the revenue gained, it is unethical for a government to pursue it. The tea just winds up being dumped in the harbor.

Now if we were talking "Tens of thousands of dollars" of purchases annually, then the unit would have an ethical obligation to ensure that those purchases are tightly in sync with the CO's mission. Even so. Round here, municipalities who've tried to use the heavy hand of the law against large non-profits in court have come up short.